+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Japanese MS Word review options

 
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    297
    Rep Power
    568

    Default Japanese MS Word review options

    Hi all!


    I have a massive issue with a Japanese text in MS Word and I'm hoping you can help me!


    It seems that there are some characters at the beginning of a line that shouldn't be in that position and no matter how I align the text, I cannot fix it.


    I was told there's a function in the Japanese version of MS Word that automatically arranges the text so this doesn't happen but I'm not sure which on it is or how to find it.


    Can anyone give me a hand with it?


    Thanks so much in advance!

  2. #2
    Senior Member iyuanobi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Somewhere over the rainbow
    Posts
    274
    Rep Power
    542

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Hi, I am not sure if this is the solution as I don´t know Japanese.

    Here you can find the complete text: Adjust text spacing and line breaks in form templates that contain both East Asian and Latin text

    I hope this is the solution you are looking for
    Configure the line break for a specific line in a form template

    1. Place the insertion point in the text where you want to apply a line break.
    2. On the Format menu, click Asian Typography.
    3. Under Line break in the Asian Typography task pane, do one of the following:

      • To enable the line to break at a Japanese or Korean word that starts with a normal-width character, click Normal.
      • To enable the line to break at a Japanese word that ends in a normal-width character, click Normal. You cannot configure the line to break at a Korean word that ends in a normal-width character.
      • To enable the line to break at a Japanese or Korean word that ends with a normal-width character, click Normal.
      • To enable the line to break at a Japanese word that starts or ends with a normal or half-width character, click Strict. You cannot configure the line to break at a Korean word that ends with a half-width character.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    297
    Rep Power
    568

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Quote Originally Posted by iyuanobi View Post
    Hi, I am not sure if this is the solution as I don´t know Japanese.

    Here you can find the complete text: Adjust text spacing and line breaks in form templates that contain both East Asian and Latin text

    I hope this is the solution you are looking for
    Configure the line break for a specific line in a form template


    1. Place the insertion point in the text where you want to apply a line break.
    2. On the Format menu, click Asian Typography.
    3. Under Line break in the Asian Typography task pane, do one of the following:
      • To enable the line to break at a Japanese or Korean word that starts with a normal-width character, click Normal.
      • To enable the line to break at a Japanese word that ends in a normal-width character, click Normal. You cannot configure the line to break at a Korean word that ends in a normal-width character.
      • To enable the line to break at a Japanese or Korean word that ends with a normal-width character, click Normal.
      • To enable the line to break at a Japanese word that starts or ends with a normal or half-width character, click Strict. You cannot configure the line to break at a Korean word that ends with a half-width character.
    Hi iyuanobi!

    It is very helpful although I still have some questions..

    What if I'm not exactly sure where in the text I want to apply a line break? Would it work if I select the entire text and click the Strict option?

    Thanks!!!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    953
    Rep Power
    100

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Quote Originally Posted by agustinab View Post
    What if I'm not exactly sure where in the text I want to apply a line break? Would it work if I select the entire text and click the Strict option?
    I believe that, if you use the automated feature of the Japanese version of MS Word, and choose "Strict" as the text formatting option, then there would be no need to apply manually any line breaks.

    Line breaks will definitely serve the purpose if you are to pass on those files to someone who does not own that Japanese version. In such a case, my advice would be for you to print and manage files in the more stable PDF format.

    Please, correct me if I'm wrong!

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    297
    Rep Power
    568

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Quote Originally Posted by gentle View Post
    I believe that, if you use the automated feature of the Japanese version of MS Word, and choose "Strict" as the text formatting option, then there would be no need to apply manually any line breaks.

    Line breaks will definitely serve the purpose if you are to pass on those files to someone who does not own that Japanese version. In such a case, my advice would be for you to print and manage files in the more stable PDF format.

    Please, correct me if I'm wrong!
    You were right, gentle! I just applied the "Strict" review option and I didn't have to apply any changes anually - although it's good to know one can get the same results with line breaks if no Japanese MS Word version is at hand.

    Thank you both for your assistance!

  6. #6
    Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    597
    Rep Power
    852

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Hi Agustina,
    you can check this thread that explains the use of line breaking rules in Asian languages
    What are the line breaking rules you must respect in Asian languages?

    Hope that it helps

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2016
    Posts
    619
    Rep Power
    674

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Besides the line breaks options, i always make sure to uncheck the "Asian fonts also apply to Latin text" in the Advanced options too.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Posts
    297
    Rep Power
    568

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Quote Originally Posted by nabylm View Post
    Besides the line breaks options, i always make sure to uncheck the "Asian fonts also apply to Latin text" in the Advanced options too.
    Hi nabyl! I'll remember to uncheck it next time!

    Thanks so much for the advice.

  9. #9
    Moderator eidjit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Buenos Aires
    Posts
    343
    Rep Power
    922

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Recently I had to set this up in a PC.

    As to save you some time researching the way to do this I'll summarize the steps to do this.

    - In MS Word Go to File, Options: Language side-tab

    - Click on the drop-down menu located middle of the window and choose Japanese then click ADD

    You'll see next to Japanese on the upper box "Not Installed" - Click on it



    It will open a Internet TAB taking you to the official MS Word Language Download center

    - Choose Japanese Language in the Drop-Down Menú in this web and then download the right Language Proofing installer.

    (For example if you have Ms Word x32 o x64, if you don't know witch one you have, go to MsWord, File, About or Account and look for it)




    - Run the installer when it's finished downloading. (It takes about 15 minutes, depending on the speed of your pc)

    - Then close every MS Word Window, if not already, and open one again.

    - Now go to File, Options, Typography TAB and choose "Strict"

    - DONE!

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by eidjit; 03-16-2018 at 12:46 PM.
    _Eidji

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    953
    Rep Power
    100

    Default Re: Japanese MS Word review options

    Quote Originally Posted by eidjit View Post
    It will open a Internet TAB taking you to the official MS Word Language Download center

    - Choose Japanese Language in the Drop-Down Menú in this web and then download the right Language Proofing installer.

    (For example if you have Ms Word x32 o x64, if you don't know witch one you have, go to MsWord, File, About or Account and look for it)
    Thank you, eidjit! But, at no extra cost? Is that a free plug-in?

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •