+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 2 of 2

Thread: Australia the continent

  1. #1
    Contributing User
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Rep Power

    Default Australia the continent

    Thanks to chimera for your comments in the last thread. Now, what can you tell me about the continent of Australia. Is it just Australia or is it Australasia? Does the continent include New Zealand? Thanks.

  2. #2
    Forum User
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Rep Power


    Hello Elmeromero, New Zealanders would be very offended if you asked them if they were included in Australia. There is a friendly rivalry between the Kiwis and the Aussies. This past weekend they played Rugby Union for the Bledisloe Cup and Australia lost, so my husband is in mourning, but the Kiwis are delighted. The name of the country is the Commonwealth of Australia. It does not include New Zealand. When the Commonwealth was created, in the late 18th Century, New Zealand and Fiji were asked to join it, but they declined. Australia has, I believe, 6 states: Victoria, New South Wales, Western Australia, South Australia, Queensland, and Tasmania. It also has a few Territories, amongst them the Northern Territory and a part of Antartica and a few islands. It is a huge place. Australians have the Queen of England as their Head of State, with the Governor General as her representative, and a Prime Minister who heads the Executive branch of government.

    What more can I say? If you have any specific question, put it in the forum and I'll be happy to answer it or find out for you.



+ Reply to Thread

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. Australia
    By mvictoria in forum Movies and TV
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-02-2009, 04:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts